Reviews for our Grasmere Cottage

REVIEWS FOR BROCKSTONE GRASMERE COTTAGE

MARCH 2017

Another 5 Star review today for our Grasmere Cottage. 

DELIGHTFUL COTTAGE WITH BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

  • 5 *****

Brockstone was absolutely ideal for us. It has been beautifully decorated and furnished, whilst still retaining the lovely cottage feel which we love. The lounge with the log burner was great to come back to after a day’s sight seeing and was already laid for our first night. The kitchen was well equipped and, whilst we had our main meals out at lunch time, would have had everything if I had wanted to prepare a full meal.

I normally can’t wait to get home to my own bed but the four posterDelightful Cottage with Beautiful Views  double bed was so comfortable, I was reluctant to leave it and the lovely large room. Also, the spa bath was a real bonus and very relaxing. The views from the house are beautiful and on the sunny days, which we were lucky to have during the mixed weather we have been having in March, were even more lovely. Our dog enjoyed the walks along the track to the duck ponds in the morning and evening and even had an impromptu swim when he thought chasing a duck would be a good idea, having not realised they were in water. I finally saw the elusive red squirrel on our last day just down the track.

I can highly recommend Brockstone if you like peace and quiet but with plenty to do not too far away. The drive up the track to the house was a bit challenging the first time we drove up as it is very narrow in places. The startled look on the faces of the ramblers when they suddenly see a car heading towards them on their pathway is quite funny when we drove out in the mornings. Thanks again Sue for sharing your lovely cottage and hopefully we will be back.”

 

 

 CHRISTMAS AND NEW YEAR 2016-2017

Excellent reviews from our Christmas and New Year guests.

Our Christmas guests hadn’t stayed at Brockstone before, but they were very happy. Here’s a snippet of their message

“Dear Sue

Just to say thank you for our week at Brockstone Cottage.

We loved the cottage, and its wonderful location – only noise the sound of the stream, and the occasional birdsong! Thank you for the Christmas decorations, and the delicious prosecco and cake you left for us.

We had very mixed weather, but it was great to come home to such a cosy place after being out on the hills.”

Our New Year guests were regular visitors who hadn’t been since we refurbished the ground floor. They loved everything!
They were particularly intrigued by the way we had taken out the old ( rather ugly) fireplace and revealed an ancient fire opening with a big local slate lintel. We’ve put a new logburner in this space, and the whole house is really toasty hot.

They also liked the way we have taken down an old partition wall and revealed little old windows that look onto the banking at the back of the house.

Lovely to have guests staying in the middle of winter loving the cosiness of the cottage and the nature all around.

All these reviews can be found here on the HomeAway website. They are all genuine! It’s good to know that so many people had a great stay at Brockstone Grasmere Cottage.

NOVEMBER 2016

Another great review!

“BREATHTAKING VIEWS!”

5 Stars *****

Fantastic cottage in the most beautiful, quiet surroundings with breathtaking views. This is a walker’s paradise with walks right on your doorstep! I will definitely be booking up here again next time we plan a visit to the Lake District.

 OCTOBER 2016

“PERFECT QUINTESSENTIAL BRITISH COTTAGE”

5 Stars *****

We live in a city with a very fast pace of life and appreciate any time we can experience peace and quite, particularly in such beautiful surroundings. This cottage is down a very narrow track “which we loved” (Coffin route), where you can see red squirrels and other wildlife in abundance. Although we didn’t need any further assistance I am sure Sue would have had no problem in assisting. We will definitely be returning to re charge the batteries. Thanks for letting your beautiful home Sue. X

 

OCTOBER 2016

“AMAZING LOCATION, COMFORTABLE COTTAGE”

5 Stars *****

Amazing location, wonderful views over the lake and hills. Everything was just perfect for our week stay. Would highly recommend for peace and quiet. Cottage very warm and comfortable with everything we needed.

AUGUST 2016

This is from  more guests who stayed in August 2016

“Thank you for a lovely stay in your wonderful cottage, and for making us feel really welcome on our arrival…. We had a magical stay in the Lakes and even though the cottage feels lovely and remote we could still easily get out and about to walk and we used the bus to explore. We’ll definitely be back”

AUGUST 2016

We were delighted to receive this review, posted on the HomeAway lettings website.

BEAUTIFUL COTTAGE IN A STUNNING LOCATION”

***** 5 STARS OUT OF 5

We have rented many cottages over the years, but have to say that this was the most special yet. The cottage itself, recently renovated, was perfect with all the facilities one could want: a very well equipped kitchen, lovely sitting room with wood burning stove; two very comfortable bedrooms; plenty of hot water and efficient heating (that we turned on for the one day when the not so warm English summer walk had left us feeling a bit chilly!).

Then there are the views: sitting on the terrace in front of the house looking over Loughrigg Fell and down to Rydal Water was truly inspiring. No wonder Wordsworth spent so much of his time here…

The location is great: turning right out of the cottage for a 15 minute walk into Grasmere; or left down to Rydal, and a quick few minutes straight down to White Moss. It did mean that we could leave the car behind on several occasions as we set out to explore, including lovely walks around Grasmere Lakeand Rydal Water, and up to Buckstones Jump for a (quick) dip.

The cottage’s owners, Sue and Peter, couldn’t have been more welcoming and helpful with suggestions and tips for making the week all the more enjoyable. All in all, a quite wonderful week in an incredibly special spot.

  • Review Submitted: Aug 15, 2016
  • Date of Stay: Jul 2016
  • Source: HomeAway

We’d like to thank those very lovely guests. We hope that they join our list of regular visitors.

Thank you!

NEW REVIEWS JULY 2016

We’ve been refurbishing the ground floor of Brockstone, our Grasmere holiday cottage. We’ve been hoping for some good reviews. Here’s a message just left for us by guests who returned last week for the first time since the upgrade.

Hi Sue,
            Just a quick note to say how much we enjoyed our week at Brockstone. It really is a home from home and without doubt the best place we have stayed in the lakes. The renovations are perfect and we are already looking forward to next year.
Many Thanks
That’s what we like to hear! We love reviews like this.
new kitchen Brockstone

Brockstone kitchen, with Bosch washer dryer, oven, hob, dishwasher and microwave.

Here are some photos of the kitchen following the refurbishment.

Smeg and kitchen Brockstone

Another view of our Grasmere cottage kitchen showing the beautiful Smeg fridge freezer

New dining area Brockstone

Brockstone cottage Grasmere dining area, with views of the Lakeland fells

Looking the other way from the kitchen, you can see the antique pine table and the window onto the terrace with amazing views.

(If you’re wondering why we can’t be found on Trip Advisor, it’s because we no longer list our cottage with the Holiday Lettings website, as we did not like their policy of charging guests a large extra payment for booking via their site.Holiday Lettings is owned by Trip Advisor. When we stooped paying to be on their site, they removed us from Trip Advisor!” (so much for impartiality!

LATEST REVIEW- WOW AGAIN!

Here’s a wonderful review posted by our recent guests on HomeAway.co.uk .

The heading was “WOW factor”

Had the pleasure of staying at Brockstone cottage for 4 nights last week with our 2 Golden Retrievers and it was home from home and we highly recommend it. We collected the cottage key from Sue and Peters home, we was greeted by Sue who gave us a good customer service with information about the area and a map on how to get to Brockstone. On reaching the cottage the views are to die for overlooking Rydal water and beyond. The cottage is very clean and well maintained throughout, on our arrival it was warm, cosy, and very comfortable the coal fire was set and ready to light. The description, location, facilities and reading the other reviews I cannot comment on it any better, everything was so very nice and Thank you to Sue and Peter for being excellent hosts and for accepting the dogs as well, they too enjoyed it and I think they were pleased to get home for a rest with all the good walking routes we explored. Thank you again and hope to see you again. Jane B. Derbyshire.

We’re very grateful to guests who take the time to leave these lovely reviews.

JANUARY 2015- a new review starts the New Year in the best way possible.

“WOW!! Stunning Cottage, Location and Facilities” – that’s the headline for a wonderful review posted by the guests who stayed over the New Year period 2014-2015.To read the review in full on Trip Advisor, please click through this link.

In 2014 our  Grasmere holiday Cottage, Brockstone, collected  some lovely reviews .

Guests who stayed for a week in December, which was the wettest week in the whole year, still loved Brockstone and hope to come back in the summer. Their review can be found on the Home Away Holiday Rentals website, with the heading “Perfect Location, well equipped, beautiful cottage “ , and in an email to us they said “we loved Brockstone- please don’t change a thing” The full Home Away review can be found here.

Here are some more snippets from recent reviews –

The cottage is a magical place”……..”There is every attention to comfort………….There are wonderful walks from the door”  (October 2014)

The most wonderful cottage in the Lakes”……”.Delightful cottage in marvellous setting …….. Feels secluded but not lonesome…….Well furnished and very comfortable, warm fire and an wonderful bath in addition to separate shower and two loos………Friendly and helpful owners – nearby but not on the doorstep!” (August 2014)

Perfect venue for a fell-walking holiday”…..”This is the second time I have rented this cottage and it makes a perfect base in the heart of the Lake District. It is very conveniently located but is also peaceful and secluded. A number of great walks begin right at the cottage door. It is very well provisioned,with great facilities. …. … The open fire is delightful and firewood, coal etc are easy to find in supermarkets, petrol stations etc. Parking at the cottage is secure and there is room for guest cars with a little manoeuvring. The views are sensational.” (May 2014)

We don’t like to pester our guests to leave reviews ,so we are always delighted when they do take the time to post on our Holiday Lettings pages ( which is linked to Trip Advisor) or on our Home Away Holiday rentals site. As many of our guests return year after year it’s unrealistic to expect them to make repeat reviews. We’re just very delighted to see them again!

When Trip Advisor first started showing reviews for holiday cottages they emailed me to tell me that I wasn’t getting enough reviews to get a high rating. They expected reviews every week, or at the very least several per month! I pointed out that this model was fine for a hotel or a B & B, with lots of different guests every week,but for just one cottage, where guests often stay for 2 weeks, and where many guests are returning guests , this model just didn’t make sense. I like to think that I played a small part in getting them to change the algorithm! However, if you now click over to Trip Advisor/Holiday lettings, you will see that we no longer appear. This is because we have withdrawn our advert from their site. They have a new booking system by which they charge you, the guests, a considerable amount for booking our cottage through their website. They make it very hard for us, as owners, to get round this, so for now we have pulled out.